Stephen Moelis

Email Stephen

Stephen Moelis has been a HERJC member since 2008. He has been involved in multiple areas of synagogue life, including Rabbi and Hazzan Search Committees, and as chair of the Education, Membership, and Catering Committees. Stephen served as co-chair of HERJC’s two recent campaigns – the Mitzvah 613 Torah writing project in 2012 and the L’Dor V’Dor Wall of Windows capital project in 2019 – and currently chairs HERJC’s Patrons Society.

Stephen graduated from Hewlett High School in 1984, received a Bachelor of Arts magna cum laude from Swarthmore College in 1988, and then received his J.D. at Cardozo Law School in 1991 where he was on the Law Review.

Stephen is the co-owner of a family business that owns musical copyrights and master recordings, including works by some of today’s biggest artists. He also volunteers as a mentor to students at John Adams High School in Ozone Park.

Stephen and his wife, Melanie, came to Long Island in 1997 and moved to the ‘Dumbo’ section of Brooklyn in 2020.  They have three children, Ben, Sarah, and Emily, who all attended HERJC’s Nursery and Religious Schools.

Vice Presidents

Rachel Cooper
Elaine Garver
David Koffler
Laura Underweiser


Steven Kreit



Board of Directors

Martin Abrams
Tamar Barbash
Laurie Stone Brofsky
David Burton
Marilyn Cohen
Stanley Cohen*
Naomi Doctor
Norman Doctor*
Bruce Drantch
Jaime Ezratty
Sandy Feit
Jason Gang

Dan Gerstman*
Terri Gold
Marc Goldberg*
Rita Gottlieb*
Michael Greenberg
Keith Harrow
Lev Herrnson
David Horton
Adam Ingber
Barbara Kaplan
Harold Kislik*
Liz Kislik*

Martin Lesser
Stuart Markowitz
Judith Nysenholc
Matilde Olin
Jonathan Polansky
Audrey Polinsky*
Nancy Rehns
Nora Skiba
Roberta Sugarman
Stuart Sugarman
Laura Underweiser
Beverly Wachtel

* Past President

Honorary Board Members

Marion Hauser
Judy Herbst
Joy Kaminsky
Larry Miller
Ellen Schieren
Joseph Sklar